Olney Medal

The Olney Medal signifies outstanding achievement in textile chemistry, or in polymer or other fields of major importance to textile sciences and fibrous materials. This also includes the development of chemical agents or chemical processes used in the manufacture of textiles, fibrous materials, or methods for their evaluation.

The Olney Medal is AATCC’s highest scientific award. It was established in 1944 as a testimonial to Dr. Louis Atwell Olney, founder of AATCC, in recognition of his lifetime of devotion and multitudinous contributions to the field of textile chemistry. This award is given to encourage and afford public recognition of such achievements and contributions.


Any individual member of AATCC may submit a nomination. Selection is by unanimous choice of the CS65 Olney Award Committee

  • Significant contribution to  textile science
  • Candidate does not have to be a member of AATCC

Olney Award

The award is presented annually at AATCC’s Textile Discovery Summit. It includes:

  • Gold medal
  • Framed certificate
  • US$1,000 honorarium
  • Free Textile Discovery Summit registration for recipient and a guest (for the year in which the award is presented)
  • Invitation to VIP cocktail reception at Summit, including professional photos with AATCC President
  • Press release, social media posts, magazine article, etc. announcing award recipient, including photo and bio

The recipient also presents the Olney Address at the Summit and the text is published in AATCC Review.

Below are past recipients of the Olney Medal:
*As of 2023, the process of the nomination and granting of the award will occur in the same year.

2023: Phil Brown, Clemson University (Olney Medal Paper )
2021: Yiqi Yang , University of Nebraska, Lincoln (Olney Address) (Olney Medal Paper)
2020: J. Vincent Edwards, US Department of Agriculture (Video)    (Olney Address)
2019: H. Kenneth Greeson, Cotton Incorporated (Olney Address) (Video)
2018: Howard Malpass, Denim Dyeing Technical Service LLC (Olney Address) (Video)
2017: Peter Hauser, North Carolina State University (Olney Address)
2016: Gang Sun, University of California, Davis (Olney Address)
2015: Fred L. Cook, Georgia Institute of Technology (Olney Address) (Video)
2014: S. Haig Zeronian, University of California, Davis (Olney Address) (Video)
2013: John Richard Aspland, Clemson University (Olney Address)
2012: Charles Q. Yang, The University of Georgia (Olney Address) (Video)
2011: Martin Bide, University of Rhode Island (Olney Address)
2010: Ian R. Hardin, The University of Georgia (Olney Address)
2009: S. Kay Obendorf, Cornell University (Olney Address)
2008: David Malcolm Lewis, University of Leeds (Olney Address)
2007: C. Brent Smith, North Carolina State University
2006: Keith R. Beck, North Carolina State University (Olney Address)
2005: Rolf G. Kuehni, North Carolina State University
2004: Harold S. Freeman, North Carolina State University (Olney Address)
2003: Howard L. Needles, Consultant
2002: Max A. Weaver, Consultant
2001: George L. Baughman, University of Georgia
2000: Tyrone Vigo, US Department of Agriculture
1999: Warren S. Perkins, University of Georgia
1998: Joseph C. Shivers, DuPont
1997: Hans H. Kuhn, Milliken Research Corp. (Olney Address)
1996: Wayne C. Tincher, Georgia Institute of Technology
1995: Vivian T. Stannett, North Carolina State University (Olney Address)
1994: J. Nolan Etters, University of Georgia
1993: Herbert T. Pratt, DuPont Co. (Olney Address)
1992: Bethlehem K. Andrews, US Department of Agriculture
1991: Robert J. Harper Jr., US Department of Agriculture
1990: Hans-Dietrich H. Weigmann, Textile Research Institute
1989: J. Lee Rush, AlliedSignal Inc.
1988: Martin K. Lindemann, Consultant (Olney Address)
1987: Ludwig Rebenfeld, Textile Research Institute
1986: Melvin D. Hurwitz, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
1985: Stanley P. Rowland, US Department of Agriculture
1984: Ralph McGregor, North Carolina State University
1983: Theodore F. Cooke, Textile Research Institute
1982: Stephen B. Sello, J. P. Stevens & Co.
1981: Mathias J. Schuler, DuPont Co.
1980: Roland E. Derby Jr., Derby Co.
1979: Joseph W. Gibson Jr., DuPont Co.
1978: Dmitry M. Gagarine, Milliken Research Corp.
1977: James M. Straley, Tennessee Eastman Co.
1976: George L. Drake Jr., US Department of Agriculture
1975: R. Lee Wayland Jr., Dan River Inc.
1974: Henry A. Rutherford, North Carolina State University
1973: Herman B. Goldstein, Sun Chemical Corp. (Olney Address)
1972: Victor S. Salvin, University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Olney Address)
1971: Ernest R. Kaswell, Fabric Research Laboratories
1970: Paul L. Meunier, DuPont Co.
1969: D. Donald Gagliardi, Gagliardi Research Corp.

Also, from North Carolina State University: Olney Medalists 1944-1968

1968:Harold P. Lundgren, US Department of Agriculture
1967: Edwin I. Stearns, American Cyanamid Co.
1966: Wilson A. Reeves, US Department of Agriculture
1965: Herman F. Mark, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn
1964: Richard O. Steele, Rohm and Haas Co.
1963: Giuliana C. Tesoro, J. P. Stevens & Co.
1962: Charles F. Goldthwait, North Carolina State College
1961: Fred Fortess, Celanese Corp. of America
1960: Arnold M. Sookne, Harris Research Laboratories
1959: Emery I. Valko, Lowell Technological Institute
1958: Henry E. Millson, American Cyanamid Co.
1957: P. J. Wood, Royce Chemical Co.
1956: Walter J. Hamburger, Fabric Research Laboratories
1955: Miles A. Dahlen, DuPont Co.
1954: William D. Appel, National Bureau of Standards
1953: Roland E. Derby Sr., Derby Co.
1952: Werner von Bergen, Forstmann Woolen Co.
1951: Raymond W. Jacoby, Ciba Co.
1950: George L. Royer, American Cyanamid Co.
1949: Charles A. Seibert, DuPont Co.
1948: Harold M. Chase, Dan River Mills
1947: Edward R. Schwarz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1946: William H. Cady, US Finishing Co.
1945: Milton Harris, Milton Harris Associates
1944: Louis Atwell Olney

Olney Nomination

  • Nominations due March 31

  • Provide link to nominee's LinkedIn and/or other social media profile.
  • Describe the candidate's contribution to textile science. (Upload additional documentation if applicable.)
  • Max. file size: 256 MB.
  • Self-nominations are accepted.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.