J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award

The AATCC Publications Committee presents the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award to the author or authors of the best peer reviewed paper published in the AATCC journal each year.

Even before it began publishing its own journal, AATCC had a long-standing tradition of friendly rivalry among authors. From 1925 to 1933, awards were presented for the best AATCC conference papers published by American Dyestuff Reporter. From 1940 to 1996, an Intersectional Paper Competition winner was chosen each year. In January 1969, AATCC began publishing Textile Chemist and Colorist and in February 1979, an annual award was established to honor the best paper printed in that journal.

In 1990, the award was named for J. William Weaver, who was chair of the AATCC editorial board at the time of his death. Over the years, winning papers have covered a variety of topics, including antimicrobial textiles, color measurement and calculation, computer technology, exhaust dyeing, fiber-surface modification, formaldehyde, hydrogen peroxide bleaching, indigo dyeing, jet dyeing, metal content, recycling, soil release finishes, vacuum slot extraction, and yellowing.

The award includes a framed certificate signed by the AATCC president and the Publications Committee chair. It is presented at AATCC’s Textile Discovery Summit.

*As of 2023, the process of the nomination and granting of the award will occur in the same year.

2023: “Photochromic Microcapsules for Textile Materials by Spray Drying—Part 3: Application of Photochromic Microcapsules on Cotton Fabrics,” Seniha Morsümbül, Emriye Perrin Akçakoca Kumbasar, and Ahmet Ҫay

2021: “Examination of Cotton Maturity and Maturity Distribution Using and Infrared Focal Plane Array Imaging System,” Michael Santiago Cintron, Terri Von Hoven, Doug J. Hinchliffe, and Rebecca Hron

2020 (2 papers): “Antibacterial finishing of Vat Dyed Cotton Fabrics with a Reactive N-Halamine,” Xuehong Ren, Yan Zhang, and Tung-Shi Huang

“Mechanical Properties and Failure Analysis of 3D-Woven Copper Wire/Glass Fiber Hybrid Composites,” Lian-gang Zheng, Fujun Xu, Kun Zhang, Mohamed Amine Aouraghe, Sidra Saleemi, Yanhong Caom and Yiping Qiu

2019: “Bio-Bleaching of Cotton with H2O2 Generated from Native and Immobilized Glucose Oxidase,”
Amit Madhu and Jadu Nandan (J.N.) Chakraborty

2018: “Development and Characterization of Naproxen-Loaded Poly(vinyl alcohol) Nanofibers Crosslinked with Polycarboxylic Acids”
Ҫiğdem Akduman, E. Perrin Akçakoca Kumbasar, and Işik Özgüney

2017: “Expanded Selective Bacterial Enumeration with the TEMPO Most Probable Number Technique for AATCC Test Method 100”
Maria Bernardini Piazza, Trevor Smith, Adam Liebowitz, Joseph Venezia, and Steven Arcidiacono

2016: “Garment Ventilation Strategies for Improving Heat Loss in Structural Firefighter Clothing Ensembles”
Meredith L. McQuerry, Emiel DenHartog, and Roger Barker

2015: “Off Gas Measurements from FR Materials Exposed to a Flash Fire”
Mark Ackerman, Jane Batcheller, and Stephen Paskaluk

201: “Effect of Acrylate Constituent Units on the COD Removal Rates of Acrylate Copolymers for Warp Sizing”
Enqi Jin, Zhiyong Qiao, Hong Zhu, Zaixing Zhang, and Yonglan Li

2013: “Determination of Acrylamide in Textiles by GC-MS using 13C3-labeled Acrylamide as Internal Standard”
Jing Jin, Wei Dong, and Yong Liang

2012: “Liquid Chromatographic and Mass Spectrometric Analysis of Dyes for Forensic Purposes”
Keith R. Beck, David Hinks, Nathan H. Weisner, and Anne Crawford

2011: “Development of a Novel Bleaching Process for Cotton”
Renzo Shamey, Changhai Xu, and David Hinks

2010      “Determination of Antimicrobial Effi cacy for Textile Products Against Odor-Causing Bacteria”
Rachel McQueen, Monika Maria Keelan, and Swapna Kannayiram

2009      “Hybrid Nanofiber Structures for Tissue Engineering”
Bhupender S. Gupta and Ajit Moghe

2008      “Capillary Channel Polymer Fibers as Structural Templates for Ligament Regeneration”
Philip J. Brown, Kristofer D. Sinclair, and Charles Kenneth (Ken) Webb

2007      “Describing Color Differences: How Good are You Color Comments?”
Carol Tomasino Revels

2006      “Durable and Regenerable Antimicrobial Textiles: Thermal Stability of Halamine Structures”
Gang Sun, Jeffrey Williams, Lei Qian, and Joseph (Tay-Yuan) Chen

2005      “Washfastness Improvement for Heavy Shade Microdenier Nylon 6,6 Fabric”
Henry A. Boyter Jr. and Shiqi Li

2004      “Comparison of Color Difference Equations for Textiles: CMC(2:1) and CIEDE2000”
J. Richard Aspland and Pramod U. Shanbhag

2003      “Bifunctional Surface Modification of Polyester”
Martin Bide, Tao Zhong, Joshua Ukponmwan, Matthew Phaneuf, William Quist, and Frank LoGerfo

2002      “Influences of Carpet and Instrumental Parameters on the Identification of Carpet Face fiber by NIR”
James E. Rodgers III

2001      “Smart Rinsing, A Step Change in Reactive Dye Application Technology”
Michael Bradbury, Steve Moorehouse, and Peter S. Collishaw

2000      “On-line Monitoring of Reactive Batch Dyeing Exhaustion and Hydrolysis by FIA-HPLC”
Michele L. Wallace, Keith R. Beck, and C. Brent Smith

1999      “Systems for Automated Analysis of Carpet Dyebaths”
Wayne C.Tincher, Shiqi Li, and Elizabeth W. White

1998      “Recycling Cotton from Cotton/Polyester Fabrics”
loan I. Negulescu, Billie J. Collier, John R. Collier, Hyojung Kwon, and Ajit V. Pends

1997      “Cotton Hosiery Bleaching with Hydrogen Peroxide”
Bruce A. Evans, Leanne Boleslawski, and John E. Boliek

1996      “The Mechanism of Hydrogen Peroxide Bleaching”
Wolfgang Schlenker and Josef J. Dannacher

1995      “Advances in Indigo Dyeing: Implications for the Dyer, Apparel Manufacturers and Environment”
J. Nolan Etters

1994      “Determining the Metal Content of Cotton”
Donald E. Brushwood and Henry H. Perkins Jr.

1993      “Laboratory-to-Bulk Reproducibility in Exhaust Dyeing Processes”
Dietrich Hildebrand and Fredgar Hoffman

1992      “Evaluation of Factors Contributing to the Light-induced Yellowing of Whitewashed Denim”
James W. Rucker, Harold S. Freeman, and Whei-Neen Hsu

1991      “Justifying New Technology”
G. Douglas Chambers

1990      “Basic Principles and Applications of Vacuum Slot Extraction”
Arthur D. Broadbent

1989      “Errors in Colorimetry Caused by the Measuring Instrument”
Joanne C. Zwinkels

1988      “Computer Technology in the Modern Dyehouse”
Brian Glover

1987      “Soil Release Finishes for Fibers and Fabrics”
Theodore F. Cooke

1986      “The Role of Water in the Dyeing Process”
Teruo Hori

1985      “The Role of Fiber Surface on Dye Rate Uniformity”
Winfield T. Holfeld and Royden H. Pike

1984      “Glyoxal-Glycol Mild Cure Process for Formaldehyde-free Durable Press Finishing of Cotton”
Clark M. Welch

1983      “Why Do White Fabrics and Garments Turn Yellow During Storage in Polyethylene Bags and Wrappings?”
Kenneth C. Smeltz

1982      “The Chemistry of Formaldehyde Release from Durable Press Fabrics”
Theodore F. Cooke and Hans-Dietrich Weigmann

1981      “Reusing Dyebaths in Jet Dyeing”
Wayne C. Tincher, Fred L. Cook, and Lynn A. Barch

1980      “The Effect of Fabric Composition on Energy Demand in Home Laundering”
Frederick T. Wallenberger, A. Slack, and Manfred Wentz

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.