Technical Committee on Research Service Award

The Technical Committee on Research (TCR) Service Award was established in 2008 to recognize those who have contributed outstanding technical service to the Association through activity in a research committee. Nominees must be individual members with at least five years of continuous membership in AATCC.


Any individual member of AATCC may submit a nomination, including self-nomination. Selection is by unanimous choice of the TCR Service Award Committee, composed of the current Chair of Technical Committee on Research (TCR), Vice Chair of TCR, Chair of the Executive Committee on Research (ECR) and the Secretary of TCR. Up to two awards may be given each year.

Nominees must have the following qualifications to be considered for this award:

  • Individual member of AATCC
  • At least five years of continuous membership
  • Outstanding technical contribution through a specific research committee activity within the past five years

TCR Award

The award is presented annually at AATCC’s Textile Discovery Summit. It includes:

  • Plaque
  • US$500 honorarium
  • Free Textile Discovery Summit registration for recipient (for the year in which the award is presented)
  • Invitation to VIP cocktail reception at Summit, including professional photos with AATCC President
  • Press release, social media posts, magazine article, etc. announcing award recipient, including photo and bio

Below are past recipients of the TCR Award:

2023: Jeffrey D. Krauss

Jeffrey D. Krauss is recognized for his invaluable assistance with the development and production of AATCC control fabrics. As Research Operations Manager with the Zeis Textile Extension at the Wilson College of Textiles, North Carolina State University, Krauss regularly works with AATCC committees and staff to develop and produce dyed fabrics such as those used for UV calibration (RA36/EP11), chlorine colorfastness (RA23/TM162), and ozone colorfastness (RA33/TM129). His generous donation of equipment time, knowledge and hands-on assistance contribute significantly to the quality and consistency of AATCC products.

2022: Heather Elliot and Matthew Hardwick

Heather Elliot is recognized for her continuous service and leadership of the RA100 Global Sustainability Test Methods Research Committee, and for spearheading the committee’s first test method, AATCC TM212-2021, Test Method for Fiber Fragment Release During Home Laundering, which provides a standardized method for quantifying fiber fragment shedding to combat aquatic pollution.

Matthew Hardwick is recognized for his continuous service and leadership of RA31, Antimicrobial Activity Research Committee, which led to critical updates to TM100 Test Method for Antibacterial Finishes on Textile Materials: Assessment of, and a new standard in the area of odor measurement with TM211-2021 Test Method for the Reduction of Bacterial Odor on Antibacterial Treated Textiles.

2021: Louann Spirito
For her leadership and support on M14 Guidance and Considerations for General Purpose Textile Face Coverings: Adult.

2020: R. Stephen (Steve) Simonson
Simonson is being recognized for his long-time leadership of RA106 UV Protective Textiles Test Methods Committee, including assisting with revising AATCC Test Method 183 in coordination with related ASTM standards, publication of a compilation document, and development of a verification fabric.

2019: Gina Sloan
For her leadership of AATCC’s RA31 Antimicrobial Activity Test Methods research committee.

2018: Lisa Earnshaw
For leading thorough reviews and revisions of AATCC Test Method 8 and Test Method 61.

2017: Carla MacClamrock, Cotton Incorporated
Contributed toward the development of a new test method for formaldehyde determination.

2016: Paul Johnson, 3M (retired)
Development of the new Stain Release Replica for AATCC Test Method 130 and other contributions during his many years as a chair of AATCC RA56 Stain Resistance Test Methods.

2014: Kenneth Greeson, Cotton Incorporated
Toward a major revision of AATCC Test Method 97 under the auspices of AATCC Committee RA34

2014: Adam R. Varley, VarTest Laboratories
Toward the development of the AATCC Fiber ID Technical Supplement and the continuous updating of AATCC Test Methods 20 and 20A

2013: Gregory Haggquist, Cocona Inc.
Development toward two new drying rate test methods (Test Methods 200 and 201) under the auspices of AATCC Committee RA63

2012: Richard Slomko, Atlas Materials Testing Technology LLC
Toward the major revision of AATCC Test Method 16, Colorfastness to Light, into three parts for better clarification

2011: Roland L. Connelly Sr., RoLyn Group Consulting
Development and execution of the AATCC UV Calibration Program and Evaluation Procedure 11

2011: Norma M. Keyes, Keyes Consulting
Development of the Liquid Moisture Management Test Method and Moisture Management Technical Supplement

2010: Luther M. Myers, Test Materials Consulting
Over a decade as chair/acting chair of AATCC RA33, Colorfastness to Atmospheric Contaminants Test Methods

2009: Adi B. Chehna, Textile Tech Services
As chair of AATCC Committee RA99, Technical Manual Editorial Review

TCR Award Nomination

  • Nominations due March 31

  • Provide a link to nominee's LinkedIn and/or other social media profile.
  • Select ONE committee in which nominee made a significant technical contribution. Additional committees may be listed below.
  • (Upload additional documentation if applicable)
  • Max. file size: 256 MB.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.