Applications due February 29.

The $5,000 AATCC Foundation Grady, Hauser, Houser, Daniels Graduate Fellowship supports students pursuing a PhD in Fiber and Polymer Science at North Carolina State University’s Wilson College of Textiles.


  • US citizen
  • North Carolina State University’s Wilson College of Textiles.
  • PhD candidate
  • Fiber and Polymer Science
  • Preference to a masters student accepted in the PhD program

In the event that the nominated recipient decides not to pursue his/her degree, the Foundation Board may approve another eligible recipient as an alternate.

The fellowship is intended to assist students for one academic year.


Applications due February 29. Recipients will be announced in May. Funds will be paid to the university prior to the beginning of the fall semester.   To access and complete the  AATCC Foundation application form, click here.

For questions, contact AATCC Foundation Inc at 919.549.3524 or email India Hansen.


Charles E Gavin III, retired chair and CEO of MFG Chemical, also served as president of AATCC 1999-2000, treasurer 2003-2012. Gavin was instrumental in forming AATCC Foundation Inc and was the first contributor to the Foundation. Over the years, Gavin has made many additional donations in support of numerous named scholarships, including the establishment of the AATCC Foundation Grady, Hauser, Houser, Daniels Graduate Fellowship, honoring four individuals, all graduates of North Carolina State University, and all instrumental in the continued success of AATCC Foundation Inc.

The four individuals honored are:

Perry Grady, retired associate dean emeritus at the College of Textiles, who worked for many years to help gain donations and develop scholarships for the Foundation

Peter Hauser, AATCC president and chair of AATCC Foundation 2013-2014, and retired professor in the Textile Engineering and Color Chemistry Department at the College of Textiles

Nelson Houser, AATCC president and initial chair of AATCC Foundation 1997-1998

John Y. “Jack” Daniels, AATCC executive vice president 1996-2018 and president of AATCC Foundation from its establishment in 1997 to his retirement in 2018.

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.