AATCC Student Faculty Advisor Award

This award recognizes and promotes the work of AATCC student chapter faculty advisors who are active AATCC members and who work to ensure their AATCC student chapters are active and growing. AATCC chapters are different from other student activity groups because they encourage a connection with the greater textile industry, which will continue to benefit students after graduation.


All AATCC members (including Student Members) may submit a nomination. Self-nominations are accepted.

Advisors may not receive the awarded in two consecutive years. If no qualified individuals are nominated in a given year, no award will be presented that year.

Nominees must have the following qualifications to be considered for this award:

  • Faculty Advisor of an AATCC Student Chapter for at least 2 years
  • Advise an active AATCC student chapter
    • At least 15 student members (as of AATCC’s May 1st count)
    • Minimum of 2 activities per school year
  • Active individual AATCC member
    • Participate in AATCC activities besides being an advisor (attend or present at AATCC educational events, participate on committees, publish in AATCC publications, etc.)
  • Active AATCC Faculty Advisor
    • Advise and encourage student participation in relevant AATCC Student-related activities (competitions, scholarships, grants, etc.)
  • Demonstrate growth in student chapter
    • Increased memberships, participation, or events

Faculty Advisor Award

The award is presented annually at AATCC’s Textile Discovery Summit. It includes:

  • Plaque
  • US$500 honorarium
  • Free Textile Discovery Summit registration (for the year in which the award is presented)
  • Invitation to VIP cocktail reception at Summit, including professional photos with AATCC President
  • Press release, social media posts, magazine article, etc. announcing award recipient, including photo and bio




Below are past recipients of the Faculty Advisor Award:

2023: Md. Dawood Husain, NED University
2022: R. Bryan Ormond, North Carolina State University
2021: Janet Brady, Thomas Jefferson University
2020: Usha Chowdhary, Central Michigan University