Piedmont Section


The AATCC Piedmont section includes members in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Piedmont Section Bylaws (1995)

Chair— Lee Lemere
Vice Chair—  John Crocker, SDL Atlas
Secretary— Kevin Jenkinson, Cekal Specialties
Treasurer— Len Farias
Regional Board Member (Midsouth Region)—John Crocker
Scholarship Committee— Billy Gardner (Chair),  Lee Lemere, Mandi Strickland, Len Farias, Ann Laidlaw
Membership Chair— Bill Stuckey

Upcoming Activities

Past Activities

AATCC Piedmont Section Meeting Announcement

The Piedmont Section of AATCC will hold a meeting on Wednesday, October 23, from 1:30 – 4:00 p.m. hosted by:

EFI Global, Inc.
3101 Yorkmont Road, Suite 1800 | Charlotte, North Carolina 28208
EFI global is a full-service environmental consulting and engineering firm.

  • Technical presentation/tour by EFI global
  • Update on Section Bylaws
  • General Business

They had  25 attendees at the meeting hosted by EFI Global in Charlotte!

Andrew Sutton of EFI Global making presentation to the group.








Scholarship winners picture. Left to right,
Len Farias – Treasurer Piedmont Section
Gabriella Schoenbeck, Clemson University, Piedmont Scholarship
Lauren Swift,  Clemson University, Piedmont Scholarship
Corey Kubat,  Clemson University, Piedmont Scholarship
Nathan Weingarth,  Clemson University, Charles H Stone Scholarship
Laura Kinard, Clemson University, Student Services Coordinator
Lee Lemere, Chair Piedmont Section

October 30, 2018 – Piedmont Section Technical Seminar
The Piedmont Section is pleased to announce their fall technical seminar, “A Finishing Touch: Fine Tuning Fabric Performance”, on Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. More information below:

2018 AATCC Piedmont Technical Meeting Minutes 

July 25, 2018
AATCC Piedmont Section Committee Meeting (Conference Call)
Meeting Minutes

June 5, 2017
AATCC Piedmont Region Committee Meeting (Conference Call)
Meeting Minutes

March 3, 2016
Piedmont Section used the BBT (Charlotte Knights) Baseball Facility, in downtown Charlotte, NC,  to host a 1 day seminar entitled “Outdoor and Activewear – High Performance Textiles For an Active Lifestyle”.  The program included a total of seven technical presentations on active-wear themed  topics, ranging from marketing and color management, to product and fabric functionality. The Program was rounded off with an opportunity to tour the new BBT (Charlotte Knights) Baseball Facility, which was opened, just 2 years ago. The program attracted around 50 attendees, including a number of student members from both Clemson and NC State Universities. The Piedmont Section Committee thanks all participants for their interest in the event.

FullSizeRender  BB&T_Ballpark_Skyline  

April 18, 2012 (Officers’ Meeting)
October 27, 2011 Textiles: A Constantly Changing Industry Photo1 Photo2
March 4, 2010 (Officers’ Meeting)
March 11, 2008 (Officers’ Meeting)
October 3, 2007 (Officers’ Meeting)
March 12, 2007 (Officers’ Meeting)
March 1, 2007 Performance Enhancement of Textile Fabrics Using Functional Finishes
Annual Report 2005
September 13, 2005 (Officers’ Meeting)
June 12, 2005 (Officers’ Meeting)
Annual Report 2003


The following were awarded the Charles H. Stone scholarship for the academic year 2016/2017.
Joe Desjardins, Current recipient; rising senior (Clemson)
Jane Gragg, Current recipient; industry co-op Fall 2016 (Clemson)
Lauren Walters, Rising senior (Clemson)
Kayla Messier, Rising senior (NCSU)
Gabriel Carillo, Rising junior (Clemson)

The following were awarded Piedmont Section scholarships for the academic year 2016/2017.
Monique Mack, Current recipient; rising senior (Clemson)
Lauren Repp, Current recipient; rising senior (Clemson)
Weston Mott, Rising senior (Clemson)
Zachary Pipkin, Rising senior (NCSU)
Rebecca Harman, Graduates in December (Clemson)
Laine Taussig, Co-op during Fall semester 2016; resumes classes in Spring 2017 (Clemson)