Diana WymanDecember 7, 2021 Press Release

This year, the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year is being awarded to two papers! Xuehong Ren and co-authors Meng Zhang and Yan Zhang from Jiangnan University, and Tung Shi-Huang from Auburn University are recognized for their paper “Antibacterial Finishing of Vat Dyed Cotton Fabrics with a Reactive N-Halamine” published in the 2020 AATCC Journal of Research. Lian-gang Zheng and co-authors Fujun Xu, Mohamed Amine Aouraghe, Sidra Saleemi, Yanhong Cao and Yiping Qui from Donghua University are recognized for their paper “Mechanical Properties and Failure Analysis of 3D-Woven Copper Wire/Glass Fiber Hybrid Composites” published in the 2020 AATCC Journal of Research.

About the Authors
Xuehong Ren is a Taihu Professor in the College of Textile Science and Engineering at Jiangnan University located in Wuxi, Jiangsu, China. He received his B.S. in Textile Chemical Engineering (Dyeing and Finishing) and M.S. in Textile Chemical Engineering at Soochow University in 1993 and 2002, respectively. He earned his Ph.D. in Polymer and Fiber Engineering from Auburn University in 2006.  Prior to professorship at Jiangnan University, he was a Process Development Scientist at HaloSource Inc. in the U.S. He has been a member of AATCC since 2019. Ren has written or been a corresponding author on 153 peer-reviewed journal articles and been a corresponding author on four different book chapters.

Contributing authors include Meng Zhang, a Research and Development Engineer at Tanatex Chemical Trading Company Ltd., in Shanghai, China, and Yan Zhang, an Intellectual Property Specialist at Pinghu Youpu Biosciences Co., Ltd. in Pinghu, Zhejiang, China. Tung-Shi Huang is a professor at Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama, U.S.A.

Lian-gang Zheng received his B.S. from Anhui Polytechnic University in 2017. He immediately began his graduate studies at Donghua University in Shanghai China, where he is currently a Ph.D. candidate in the College of Textiles. He has authored or co-authored seven papers and has recently received the Doctoral Academic Scholarship from Donghua University and the Excellent Paper Award of the 13th International Forum on Textile & Garment Innovation from Shanghai Textile Engineering Society.

Corresponding authors include Fujun Xu, a Professor and Vice Dean at the College of Textiles, Donghua University. Xu received a B.S. in 2005 and a Ph.D. in 2011 from Donghua University; during this time, he also received a joint Ph.D. from North Carolina State University. Xu has authored or co-authored 10 journal papers. Kun Zhang is a PhD candidate in the College of Textile at Donghua University, where he also received his BS degree. He has authored or co-authored six publications. Mohamed Amine Aouraghe is a Ph.D. candidate at Donghua University. He received an Engineering degree from ENSAIT in Roubaix, France and a Master of Research degree from the University of Lille 1, Lille, France. He has authored or co-authored seven publications. Sidra Saleemi is a Ph.D. candidate at Donghua University. She has authored or co-authored nine papers. She is also an Assistant Professor at the University of the Punjab in Lahore, Pakistan since 2014. Yanhong Cao received her Bachelor’s degree and recently completed her Master’s degree from the College of Textiles at Donghua University; she has published two papers. Yiping Qiu is a professor in the College of Textiles at Donghua University. He received his bachelors from Zhejiang Silk Institute of Technology, his masters from Auburn University, and his Ph.D. from Cornell University. He did his post-doctorate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He served as Dean of the College of Textiles at Donghua University from 2007 to 2013. He has co-authored ten papers and is an Editorial Board Member of Textile Research Journal and Fellow of the International Society of Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Engineering.

The Weaver Award

The AATCC Publications Committee presents the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award to the author or authors of the best peer reviewed paper published in AATCC Journal of Research each year.
Even before it began publishing its own journal, AATCC had a long-standing tradition of friendly rivalry among authors. From 1925 to 1933, awards were presented for the best AATCC conference papers published by American Dyestuff Reporter. From 1940 to 1996, an Intersectional Paper Competition winner was chosen each year. In January 1969, AATCC began publishing Textile Chemist and Colorist and in February 1979, an annual award was established to honor the best paper published in that journal.

In 1990, the award was named for J. William Weaver, who was chair of the AATCC Editorial Board at the time of his death. Over the years, winning papers have covered a variety of topics, including antimicrobial textiles, color measurement and calculation, computer technology, exhaust dyeing, fiber-surface modification, formaldehyde, hydrogen peroxide bleaching, indigo dyeing, jet dyeing, metal content, recycling, soil release finishes, vacuum slot extraction, and yellowing.

The award includes a framed certificate signed by the AATCC president and the Publications Committee chair and was presented at AATCC’s Textile Discovery Summit during the Awards Luncheon on November 18, 2021 at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel, Durham, NC, USA.

For additional information about the J. W. Weaver Paper of the Year Award, and a list of previous recipients, visit www.aatcc.org/weaver/

Xuehong Ren, Yan Zhang, and Meng Zhang  are pictured below

Lian-gang Zheng, Fujun Xu, Mohamed Amine Aouraghe, Sidra Saleemi, Yanhong Cao and Yiping Qui are pictured below


About AATCC: AATCC is the world’s leading not-for-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921. AATCC, headquartered in Research Triangle Park, NC, USA, provides test method development, quality control materials, and professional networking for members in about 50 countries throughout the world.

Media Contact: Diana Wyman, AATCC Executive Vice President; +1.919.549.3532; diana@aatcc.org

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.