2018 Chemical Applications Track

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Coloration and Chemistry – Moderator: Mike Tyndall, Tyndall Textile Consulting, Ltd.
10:30 New Approaches to Dyeing Cotton with Lowered Environmental Impact – Matt Farrell,
Cotton Incorporated and Keith Zimmerman, HanesBrands Incorporated
11:00 Reactive Tendering: Mechanism and Solution – Yiqi Yang, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
11:30   A Unique Approach on PFC-Free Durable Water Repellent – Magali Brown, NICCA USA
  1:45 Virtual Learning Environments for Textile Coloration – Andrew Filarowski, Society of Dyers and Colourists
2:15 – 4:00 pm
Herman and Myrtle Goldstein Student Paper Competition – Moderator: Fred L. Cook, Professor Emeritus, Georgia Institute of Technology
The Herman and Myrtle Goldstein Student Paper Competition papers are judged on originality, scientific value, and presentation. AATCC Interest Groups provide the judges whose balloting determines the order of finish. Results of the competition will be announced at the Awards Luncheon.
9:00 – 11:45 am
Technologies to Achieve Comfort- Moderator: Steve Simonson, International Textile Group Inc.
9:00 Yarn Upgrade: Can Bio-polishing Impart Combed Ring Spun-like Characteristics to
Carded RS and OE Yarns? – William Garrett, Cotton Incorporated
9:30 Phase Change Materials in Textiles: An Evaluation of Quantitative Methods for their
Analysis – Jonas Larue, Alexium International
10:00 Break
10:15   Topic and Speaker TBA
10:45 Evaluation and Comparison of Moisture Vapor Transmission Property of Fabrics through
Simple Dish Method and Sweating Hot Plate Method – Juechen He, North Carolina State University
11:15 Heat Loss Analysis of Fabrics Using a Dynamic Guarded Sweating Hot Plate – Courtney Oswald, North Carolina State University
2:15 – 3:45 pm
Odor Control and Antimicrobial – Moderator: Brian Aylward, Microban Products Co.
2:15 Topic and Speaker TBA
2:45 Studies on Odor Reduction and Antimicrobial Efficacy of Synthetic Fabrics – Siqi Li, Microban International Ltd.
3:15 How to Obtain Similar Microbiological Test Results from Multiple Third Party
Laboratories – James Krueger, International Antimicrobial Council