Debra HibbardSeptember 3, 2020 AATCC Newsletter

Balloting is underway for AATCC Chemical Applications Interest Group Chair and At-Large Member


Rembert (Bert) J. Truesdale, III is the Senior Director, Dyeing & Finishing Technology, for at Southern Mills, Inc., Ten Cate Protective Fabrics; he has been with Southern Mills, Inc. since 1999. Truesdale has been a member of AATCC since 1992. He served as President-Elect (2015-2016), President (2017-2018) and is currently Immediate Past President (2019-2020). As an officer of the Association, he served on every administrative committee, the Executive Committee of Research (which he chaired prior to his election to President-Elect) and the Technical Committee of Research. He also served as chair of the AATCC Foundation and currently serves as its vice chair. Truesdale also chairs the Appropriations Committee.

Truesdale is very active in AATCC technical committees. He has been a member of the Chemical Applications Interest Group since 2005, chaired it from 2011-2012, and currently serves as its secretary. He is also a voting member of the Flammability Technology Committee (since 2001), Applied Dyeing & Characterization of Dyes Test Methods Committee (since 2005), Water Resistance, Absorbency & Wetting Agent Eval Test Methods Committee (since 2008), Finish Analysis Test Methods Committee (since 2011), and Global Sustainability Test Methods Committee (since 2012).

Truesdale is currently a member of the Piedmont Section. Previously he served as secretary, vice-chair, program chair, and chair of the Southeast Section. He also served as Regional Director of the Southern Region.

Truesdale graduated from the Citadel with a B.A. in chemistry. While serving as a Corps of Engineer officer, Truesdale was one of four Army officers selected from his year group to be fully funded by the Army to attend graduate school. Truesdale graduated from Lehigh University with a M.S. in chemistry. He then served a follow-on assignment as an assistant professor of Chemistry at the U. S. Military Academy at West Point, NY.


Darrin M. Guthrie is a Technical Director/Formulation Chemist with Bozzetto, Inc., where he has worked for over 18 years. He is responsible for the development and formulation of new and innovative textile chemical products used in a multitude of areas, including fiber finish, preparation, dyeing and finishing as well as technical coating and lamination. Guthrie has more than 20 years of experience in product development and has been awarded two patents.

Guthrie has been a member of AATCC since 1991 and has been a member of the American Chemical Society for more than 20 years. He earned a B.S. and M.S. in Textile Chemistry from North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC.


Peter J. Hauser is a Professor Emeritus, Textile Engineering, Chemistry & Science Department, Wilson College of Textiles, North Carolina State University (NCSU). After a 24-year career as a research chemist in the textile industry, Hauser joined the NCSU faculty in 1997.

Hauser has been a member of AATCC since 1977. He served as AATCC President-Elect (2011-2012), President (2013-2014), and Immediate Past-President and chair of the Appropriations Committee (2015-2016). He chaired AATCC Foundation Board of Directors while President of AATCC and continues to serve on the Foundation Board. Currently, he serves on the Appropriations, Building and Grounds, Publications, and Employee Benefits Committees. He serves as an advisory member on the Olney Medal Award Committee. He serves on the Preparation, Finish Analysis, and Home Laundering Technology Test Method Committees (since 1985), Garment Wet Processing Test Method Committee (since 1990), and Water Resistance, Absorbency & Wetting Agent Evaluation Test Method Committee (since 2003). Hauser is also the 2017 recipient of the AATCC Olney Medal Award.

Hauser is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Society of Dyers & Colourists, and the Textile Institute. Hauser graduated from NCSU with a PhD in Chemistry.


Jeffery A. Williams has been a sales manager with Smith and Williams Company since 1991. Williams manages product development, technical application, problem resolution, data analysis, trending, and implementation planning. He has experience selling softeners, scours, defoamers, antimicrobials, wetting agents, resins, flame retardants, water repellents, chelates, and sizing. Among his many duties, he helps customers meet AATCC and ATMI standards.

Williams joined AATCC in 2019. Locally, he served as treasurer of the AATCC Piedmont/Northern Piedmont Section. He attended Georgia Southwestern University in Americus, GA.


The Chemical Applications Interest Group chair and At-Large Member serve the interest group and are a liaison between the interest group and the members. These officers also serve on the AATCC Board of Directors.  Officers serve for two years.

Questions: contact Debra Hibbard

BEST VIEWED IN CHROME AND FIREFOX BROWSERS. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.