J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award Winners


Below are past winners of the J. William Weaver Award. The award-winning papers are available to AATCC members in the AATCC Journal of Research (Present-2014) and AATCC Review (2013-1969).

Year Title Author(s)
2018 “Development and Characterization of Naproxen-Loaded Poly(vinyl alcohol) Nanofibers Crosslinked with Polycarboxylic Acids” Ҫiğdem Akduman, E. Perrin Akçakoca Kumbasar, and Işik Özgüney
2017 “Expanded Selective Bacterial Enumeration with the TEMPO Most Probable Number Technique for AATCC Test Method 100” Maria Bernardini Piazza, Trevor Smith, Adam Liebowitz, Joseph Venezia, and Steven Arcidiacono
2016 “Garment Ventilation Strategies for Improving Heat Loss in Structural Firefighter Clothing Ensembles” Meredith L. McQuerry, Emiel DenHartog, and Roger Barker
2015 “Off Gas Measurements from FR Materials Exposed to a Flash Fire” Mark Ackerman, Jane Batcheller, and Stephen Paskaluk
2014 “Effect of Acrylate Constituent Units on
the COD Removal Rates of Acrylate Copolymers for Warp Sizing”
Enqi Jin, Zhiyong Qiao, Hong Zhu, Zaixing Zhang, and Yonglan Li
2013 “Determination of Acrylamide in Textiles by
GC-MS using 13C3-labeled Acrylamide as Internal Standard”
Jing Jin, Wei Dong, and Yong Liang
2012 “Liquid Chromatographic and Mass Spectrometric Analysis of Dyes for Forensic Purposes” Keith R. Beck, David Hinks, Nathan H. Weisner, and Anne Crawford
2011 “Development of a Novel Bleaching Process for Cotton” Renzo Shamey, Changhai Xu, and David Hinks
2010 “Determination of Antimicrobial Effi cacy for Textile Products Against Odor-Causing Bacteria” Rachel McQueen, Monika Maria Keelan, and Swapna Kannayiram
2009 “Hybrid Nanofiber Structures for Tissue Engineering” Bhupender S. Gupta and Ajit Moghe
2008 “Capillary Channel Polymer Fibers as Structural Templates for Ligament Regeneration” Philip J. Brown, Kristofer D. Sinclair, and Charles Kenneth (Ken) Webb
2007 “Describing Color Differences: How Good are You Color Comments?” Carol Tomasino Revels
2006 “Durable and Regenerable Antimicrobial Textiles: Thermal Stability of Halamine Structures” Gang Sun, Jeffrey Williams, Lei Qian, and Joseph (Tay-Yuan) Chen
2005 “Washfastness Improvement for Heavy Shade Microdenier Nylon 6,6 Fabric” Henry A. Boyter Jr. and Shiqi Li
2004 “Comparison of Color Difference Equations for Textiles: CMC(2:1) and CIEDE2000” J. Richard Aspland and Pramod U. Shanbhag
2003 “Bifunctional Surface Modification of Polyester” Martin Bide, Tao Zhong, Joshua Ukponmwan, Matthew Phaneuf, William Quist, and Frank LoGerfo
2002 “Influences of Carpet and Instrumental Parameters on the Identification of Carpet Face fiber by NIR” James E. Rodgers III
2001 “Smart Rinsing, A Step Change in Reactive Dye Application Technology” Michael Bradbury, Steve Moorehouse, and Peter S. Collishaw
2000 “On-line Monitoring of Reactive Batch Dyeing Exhaustion and Hydrolysis by FIA-HPLC” Michele L. Wallace, Keith R. Beck, and C. Brent Smith
1999 “Systems for Automated Analysis of Carpet Dyebaths” Wayne C.Tincher, Shiqi Li, and Elizabeth W. White
1998 “Recycling Cotton from Cotton/Polyester Fabrics” loan I. Negulescu, Billie J. Collier, John R. Collier, Hyojung Kwon, and Ajit V. Pends
1997 “Cotton Hosiery Bleaching with Hydrogen Peroxide” Bruce A. Evans, Leanne Boleslawski, and John E. Boliek
1996 “The Mechanism of Hydrogen Peroxide Bleaching” Wolfgang Schlenker and Josef J. Dannacher
1995 “Advances in Indigo Dyeing: Implications for the Dyer, Apparel Manufacturers and Environment” J. Nolan Etters
1994 “Determining the Metal Content of Cotton” Donald E. Brushwood and Henry H. Perkins Jr.
1993 “Laboratory-to-Bulk Reproducibility in Exhaust Dyeing Processes” Dietrich Hildebrand and Fredgar Hoffman
1992 “Evaluation of Factors Contributing to the Light-induced Yellowing of Whitewashed Denim” James W. Rucker, Harold S. Freeman, and Whei-Neen Hsu
1991 “Justifying New Technology” G. Douglas Chambers
1990 “Basic Principles and Applications of Vacuum Slot Extraction” Arthur D. Broadbent
1989 “Errors in Colorimetry Caused by the Measuring Instrument” Joanne C. Zwinkels
1988 “Computer Technology in the Modern Dyehouse” Brian Glover
1987 “Soil Release Finishes for Fibers and Fabrics” Theodore F. Cooke
1986 “The Role of Water in the Dyeing Process” Teruo Hori
1985 “The Role of Fiber Surface on Dye Rate Uniformity” Winfield T. Holfeld and Royden H. Pike
1984 “Glyoxal-Glycol Mild Cure Process for Formaldehyde-free Durable Press Finishing of Cotton” Clark M. Welch
1983 “Why Do White Fabrics and Garments Turn Yellow During Storage in Polyethylene Bags and Wrappings?” Kenneth C. Smeltz
1982 “The Chemistry of Formaldehyde Release from Durable Press Fabrics” Theodore F. Cooke and Hans-Dietrich Weigmann
1981 “Reusing Dyebaths in Jet Dyeing” Wayne C. Tincher, Fred L. Cook, and Lynn A. Barch
1980 “The Effect of Fabric Composition on Energy Demand in Home Laundering” Frederick T. Wallenberger, A. Slack, and Manfred Wentz

Return to main Awards page