Millson Award Past Recipients



1980 Samuel Smith- Invention: Soil release finishes
1981 L. Russell Maguire- Invention: Flowtrue Logroll
1982 George M. Bryant and Andrew T. Walter- Invention: FFT (Foam Finishing Technology)
1983 Valentin Appenzeller- Invention: Swimming roll pad
1984 Victor T. Fahringer (posthumously)- Invention: Jet dyeing machine
1985 Herman B. Goldstein- Invention: Process for the manufacture of DMDHEU
1986 Andrew G. Pierce Jr., and John G. Frick, Jr.- Invention: Magnesium chloridehydroxy acid mixed catalyst systems in durable press finishing
1987 Dietrich R. Hildebrand- Invention: Fundamentals of chemical and physico-chemical properties, reaction kinectics and techniques of application of dyes
1988 Hugh R. Davidson and Henry Hemmendinger- Invention: Color matching computer systems
1989 Winfried T. Holfeld- Invention: Improved the dye uniformity of nylon and polyester fabrics
1990 Ulrich Meyer- Invention: Tracing the cause of catalytic damage to cotton fabrics during peroxide bleaching and largely eliminating the problem
1991 Wolfhard Beckmann- Invention: Rationalization of dyeing process
1992 Sueo Kawabata- Invention: Kawabata Evaluation System (KES) – textile testing devices
1993 Bernard F. North- Invention: Advancement of resin finishing technology including ultra low and formaldehyde free applications
1994 Angelo J. Sabia- Invention: Development of surfactants and silicone softeners
Recipients of Millson Award 2
1995 Dr. Fredgar Hoffman- Invention: Development of the system of “K” values for dyes and
auxiliaries and for rate of constants for fibers
1996 Wilhelm Christ- Invention: Airflow jet dyeing machine
1997 John D. Turner- Invention: Durable press finishes to 100% cotton garments
1998 William H. Stewart- Invention: Ink jet printing of carpeting
1999 Paul W. Mickler- Invention: Vacuum slot technology for textile finishing
2000 I. D. Rattee and W. E. Stephen- Invention: Fiber reactive dyes
2001 Stephanie Kwolek- Invention: Kevlar
2002 Max A. Weaver- Invention: Development of heterocyclic Azo dyes for polyesters and polyamides
2003 Neal E. Franks- Invention: Lyocell fiber (Tencel)
2004 Roger Bacon and Leonard Singer- Invention: Development of high performance carbon fibers
2005 David M. Lewis and C. Douglas Weston- Invention: Cumulative body of inventions in reactive dyes and their applications
2006 David A. Offord- Invention: Nanotechnology for oil and water repellent finishing for textiles
2007 W. L. Gore and Robert Gore- Invention: Discovery of expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) and its applications
2008 John R. Provost and Wim Prinsen- Invention: Development of the first commercially available inkjet printer for textile fabrics
2009 Nester B. Knoepfler- Invention: Development of flame retardant treatment of cotton batting during the 1970s
Recipients of Millson Award 3 (After this year, award goes to three years.)
2012 U.S. Marine Corp Systems Command and US Army Natick Solder Research, Development and Engineering Center- Invention: Their collaborative work developing camouflage patterns to improve combat effectiveness from counter surveillance in a variety of military environments.
2015 Under Armour- Invention: Creation and development of moisture-wicking athletic wear based on synthetic microfiber fabrics. The development of this athletic wear led to the formation and evolution of the company and popularized a new category of sporting apparel called performance wear.