J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award

The AATCC Publications Committee presents the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award to the author or authors of the best peer reviewed paper published in the AATCC journal each year.

Even before it began publishing its own journal, AATCC had a long-standing tradition of friendly rivalry among authors. From 1925 to 1933, awards were presented for the best AATCC conference papers published by American Dyestuff Reporter. From 1940 to 1996, an Intersectional Paper Competition winner was chosen each year. In January 1969, AATCC began publishing Textile Chemist and Colorist and in February 1979, an annual award was established to honor the best paper printed in that journal.

In 1990, the award was named for J. William Weaver, who was chair of the AATCC editorial board at the time of his death. Over the years, winning papers have covered a variety of topics, including antimicrobial textiles, color measurement and calculation, computer technology, exhaust dyeing, fiber-surface modification, formaldehyde, hydrogen peroxide bleaching, indigo dyeing, jet dyeing, metal content, recycling, soil release finishes, vacuum slot extraction, and yellowing.

The award includes a framed certificate signed by the AATCC president and the Publications Committee chair. It is presented at AATCC’s International Conference.

Previous Recipients

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the bext experience on our website. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.